Conversation between me and my friend.

So, two or three days earlier, I had this conversation with my friend.

She’s quite harsh and annoyingly has a foul mouth, and she’s not a comic artist but instead, a dedicated manga reader. It’s not unusual I get relieved because of talking with her.

It’s a good story and I want to share this.

I’m translating as best as I can. Here is the conversation:

 

Me: So, can you tell me what’s the weakness of my story? I can’t bring myself not to think about it.

E: Mimi…. not again ?!

Me: You know my standard is the same as yours and how the standard always gives me a bad chill.

E: Sigh man, you’ve been told numerous time by your other friends. Why can’t you just f*ckin’ trust them ?

Me: Because the standard–

E: F*ck the standard man, you honestly annoy me so much. You can’t ever move forward if you keep going on like this!! …well not that I don’t understand. Okay then, I’ll tell you my opinions.

Me: *prepare myself*

E: Honestly, your comic is…

good. No weakness at all.

Me: *blank* …huh?

E: No damn weakness at all.

Me: Are you going sarcastic on me? Cause I’m se–

E: I’m serious.

Me: *confused* What? Why?

E: The truth is, the one who is bad isn’t your comic. It is YOU.

Me: are you reffering to my personality and mindset?

E: Not only that actually, but yeah your main problem, it is. You lack confidence of yourself and your own comic. You have efforts, you have spirits, you have love, but confidence nearly 0.

Me: *shrugs* that’s not true.

E: it’s been rooted deep within your f*ckin subconcious, that’s why.

Me: *gasps*

E: you’re too naive. You are too white and you let everyone even that blabla bastard paints you as they want.

Me: But I need critics. I need advices from seniors. Is it that wrong to grow up?

E: are you doing your comic for your seniors ??

Me: I’m doing it for my comic, that’s why!!

E: THEN CHOOSE THE CRITICS WISELY, YOU IDIOT!

Me: *Taken aback*

E:  You think critics are some sorts of God ? Man… you’re being brainwashed.

Me: I don’t like your tone…critics are needed, really.

E:  Yeah you bet, the problem is if you don’t choose wisely, you ended up ruin your comic’s charms. And you don’t take critics from your seniors, you are following their path and you don’t know if it’s right or wrong.

Me: well…at least now it isn’t like that right?

E: HAS NOT YET.

Me:  Are you saying my seniors follow a wrong path?

E: It depends on their fckin standards. And don’t ever lower yours. However, it’s not a reason to find your comic’s damn weakness and be haunted in your every damn dreams like there’s no tomorrow. Neither will make you grow, got it?

Me: Okay… So what’ll I gonna do now?

E: Wanna hear my other opinions ?

Me: Yes ?

E: I won’t buy your comic.

Me: *gasps*

E: hurt?

Me: if it’s not, I must have been crazy…

E: Does it hurt more if I buy yours just because I’m your friend ?

Me: “annoyed* what are you trying to say ?

E: I said this because you’re a comic artist that have standards, moron. Not some kind of cheap one.

Me: sigh… is my comic really not that good ?

E: That’s why I said– ARE YOU EVEN READING MY COMMENTS ABOVE ??

Me: Yeayea… I was wrong, sorry.

E: Fix your fckin’ mental…seesh you sure never changed since high school.

Me: so, why won’t you buy it?

E: Matter of priority , I guess.

Me: I’m sorry ?

E: May I remind you of some damn thing called competition ?

Me: It’s not important.

E: Says the naive one.

Me: Are you telling me to hate my friends because they’re also comic artists?

E: Look, Mimi. I never said you can’t take critics. I never said you can’t befriend and discuss your ideas with your friends and your seniors. Perhaps, it’s a good thing to expand your knowledge and you won’t become an autism person that thinks your idea is really great and can’t be shared , like that blabla bastard.

Me: uhm… okay.

E: Bakuman never teaches mangakas should hate each other right? But they compete each other and aim for the best.

Me: I still don’t truly understand.

E: Mimi, if you still agree with me about standard, then it means you compete with millions comics in this world. And you know, the one who can live with making comics maybe only thousands. And I only buy — less than a hundred of it. Got what I mean ?

Me: It’s not good enough to be on sale ?

E: To be exact, you still can’t compete with them. Do you tell me to choose between Naruto and WI? Of course Naruto!

Me: That cant be helped.

E: Sure can’t. So are you giving up now ?

Me: Are you telling me to? I simply can’t do that.

E: Good. Then I’ll tell you this: people don’t only buy a comic for the rest of their life.They buy comics that they truly love and sacrifice their damn money on it. Your comic can be their new love, maybe can’t.

Me: The point is… ?

E: THE POINT IS TO F’CKIN FIX YOUR DAMN MINDSET AND STOP WASTE YOUR FREAKIN’ COMIC TIME TO RANT AND THINKING ENDLESSLY FOR ETERNAL USELESS CRAP OF WEAKNESSES YOU’RE TALKING, MORON! OTHER MANGAKAS DON’T HAVE TIME TO WHINE OR ELSE THEY DON’T HAVE FOOD TO EAT !!

Me: eeek… calm down !

E: Seesh I’m really annoyed with you. Why can you even be my friend…

Me: They have editors there, of course it’s different.

E: Don’t you start talking like that blabla.. try to be your own freakin’ editor!

Me: It doesn’t make sense..

E: Does it? Why don’t you make sense out of it then? Senses are limits, after all.

Me: Geez I don’t understand.

E: But you do understand why I won’t buy your comic, right?

Me: Yeah, I do.

E: Good. Now go back to your comic and finish your damn chapter. As long as you remember our standard agreement, you’ll be just fine.

 

 

It’s long ^^;

Maybe you want ask about what me and my friends’s standard of a comic.

It is this:

“Your comic must be interesting in all aspects with international quality.”

I hope this conversation can help you because it helps me to slowly fix my weakness and be aware of the cruel world of competition 🙂

I hope you do have friends like this too.

 

All d’ best

– Mimi N

2 thoughts on “Conversation between me and my friend.

    • ahhaha masa gini digosipin? ajegile serem banget >.<"
      toh u juga bukan komikus kok, emang gak salah kan?
      oe ndak tulis yang lain lho. gakpapa kan?

Leave a Reply

